AFI Life Achievement 2023: Which actress should receive the award?

Who should the American Film Institute choose as the recipient of the 49th Lifetime Achievement Award? Which top actress is the most likely choice to be honored in 2023? After reviewing the possible choices, be sure to vote in our poll below to find out who you think would be the best selection. Separate cast and director polls will be released soon.

Beginning in the early 1970s, the AFI began choosing actors, actresses and directors, with the recipients being director John Ford (1973), actor James Cagney (1974), director/actor Orson Welles (1975), director William Wyler (1976), actress Bette Davis (1977), actor Henry Fonda (1978) and director Alfred Hitchcock (1979).

The former beneficiaries still alive (and therefore not eligible again) are: actor Jack Nicholson (1994), director Steven Spielberg (1995), actor/director Clint Eastwood (1996), director Martin Scorsese (1997), actor Dustin Hoffman (1999), actor Harrison Ford (2000), actress/director Barbra Streisand (2001), actor/director tom hank (2002), actor robert deniro (2003), actress Meryl Streep (2004), director george lucas (2005), actor Al Pacino (2007), actor/director Warren Beatty (2008), actor/producer Michael Douglas (2009), actor Morgan FREEMAN (2011), actress Shirley McLaine (2012), director/actor Mel Brooks (2013), actress Jane Fonda (2014), actor/screenwriter Steve Martin (2015), composer John Williams (2016), actress Diane Keaton (2017), actor/director George Clooney (2018), actor/director Denzel Washington (2019) and actress Julie Andrews (2022).

Other than Spielberg and Hanks, who were 49 and 46 respectively when they were honored, everyone was in their 50s or older. For our female survey, we have set the minimum age at 50 years old. Our list of women includes Oscar-winning actresses Sandra Bullock, Viola Davis, Sally Field, Jodie Foster, Nicole Kidman, Jessica Lange, Frances McDormand, Helen Mirren and julia robertas well as Oscar nominees Annette Bening, Glenn Close and Sigourney Weaver. Vote below for who you think will be selected.

Comments are closed.